What’s wrong with people (me)!!!

You may have noticed that lately all of my social media posts have become increasingly unhinged. That is because I’m at the point in the semester where the newness has worn off and I’ve realized that I’m living in a town of 6000 people in the middle of nowhere. Look, I’m a woman of sophistication and culture, a Seattle girl, an Oslo girl, not a Bø girl. Mostly, I’m a Parkland girl.

I miss the Parkland scene, the gunshots, the peeling paint, the dead bodies in cars. Nobody plays Trap Queen at parties here. Mostly, I miss the girls back at home. I miss getting ready all together before going out, wearing our sweats and playing crap music as loud as possible. Here I have to put on my makeup alone. I miss cooking together, which was fun because none of us were exactly chefs. Here I live with all dudes and they never let me forget that I’m the worst cook in the house.

It’s ironic how in the US I spent all my time with Norwegians and felt at home, but in Norway I spend all my time with Americans and feel like a shoe on the wrong foot. It’s like I forgot everything I know about acting like a normal human and instead I’ve turned into some sort of skin covered lump that barely knows how to speak. I’m always doing something wrong. Like I’m literally just winging it 24/7. There are so many dudes here and as a consummate girl’s girl I have no idea how to speak to them, except for Jackson my dear friend, the only other WA native here. I can only talk about lady stuff, like pets, looking cute and sexual objectification.

I don’t know if anyone else can relate to this, but part of going to a new country is feeling like a sore thumb, like you stick out in all the wrong ways. It’s hard, even when you’re among people you thought were just like you.

The secret of this post is that I actually talk about my feelings instead of making a joke. I am deeply uncomfortable with this, I feel like I’m not wearing pants. So probably my next post will be about me joining the communist party, a surprise to no one who has known me for longer than 3 years. Why can’t America embrace steel factories in every backyard?


Kanskje har dere merket at i det siste har alle av mine sosiale medier innlegg vært helt gale. Det er fordi jeg realiserer nå at denne erfaringen er ikke lenger ny og jeg bor i ei bygd av bare 6000 innbyggere på landet. Jeg er ei kvinne med raffinement og kultur, ei Seattle jente, ei Oslo jente, ikke ei Bø jente. Men for det meste er jeg ei Parkland jente.

Jeg savner den Parkland scenen, skuddene, den skallete malingen, de døde kroppene i biler. Ingen spiller Trap Queen på fester her. Men jeg savner mest de jentene hjemme. Jeg savner når sminker vi oss sammen før vors, alle kledde med pyjamas og spilte dårlig musikk. Her må jeg sminke meg helt alene. Jeg savner matlaging sammen, som var morsomt fordi ingen av oss var gode kokker. Her bor jeg med bare menn og de lar meg aldri glemmer at jeg er den verste kokken på huset.

Det er ironisk hvor på US tilbrakte jeg all tid med nordmenn og følte meg koselig, men i Norge tilbringer jeg all tid med amerikanere og føler meg som en sko på den feile foten. Jeg gjør alltid noe feil. Jeg gjetter 24/7. Der er så mange menn her og som ei jentes jente har jeg ingen ide om hvordan å prate med dem, bortsett fra Jackson, min kjære venn og den bare andre WA innfødte. Jeg kan bare snakke om jente ting, slik som kjæledyr, å se søt ut og seksuell objektivisering.

Jeg vet ikke om andre kan relatere til dette, men å reise til et nytt land betyr at man skal føle seg litt malplassert, som du stikker ut i alle de feile måtene. Det er veldig hardt, selv når er du blant folk du trodde var slik som deg.

Hemmeligheten av denne posten er at jeg snakker egentlig om følelsene mine i stedet for å tulle. Jeg er veldig ubehagelig med dette, jeg føler meg som jeg har ikke bukser på meg nå. Så antakelig skal innlegget mitt neste vær om jeg vil bli med det kommunistiske partiet, som skal ikke bli en overraskelse til noe som har kjent meg for de siste tre årene. Hvorfor kan Amerika ikke omfavne stål fabrikker på hver hage?

 

img_0605

img_0762

 

 

Leave a Reply

